Messy Fun Friday – Penguin Journal Page

Whoop whoop Messy Fun Friday is now back after a little break over the festive period.

A new year brings new adventures and I took a huge leap of faith and bought my first ever Moleskine journal book……scary stuff! I spent days eyeing it up on my desk before taking brave steps to make a start on my first page.

moleskine

It was during a facetime call with my super talented friend Jaine, I took the plunge so to speak.

photo 1

Small child loves penguins and his collection is growing just as quick as he is. Current number is 5 soon to be 6, that’s between you and I wink wink! ha ha.

photo 5

 So, inspired by his love of penguins and my love for him I drew this. My mission this year is to draw more often which with plenty practise my drawing skills should improve……

photo 3

This is how I created my background journal page…

1 – Cover the entire page in white gesso. I used a flat brush to create texture. Next allow to dry. Using  Dowler Rowney Primary Blue acrylic paint, cover the top half  of the page. Now add Paperartsy Beach Hut to the lower half of the page blending using a baby wipe. Dilute some white acrylic paint with water and using a small brush ,splattere paint across the top half of the background.

photo 5

2 – Tear a piece of paper to create hills and place slightly above the bottom of the page.

photo 2

3 -Add glue below the paper, then cover in shaved ice by Stampendous. Now lift the torn piece of paper, place it over the shaved ice then press gently to fix the shaved ice to the journal page.photo 3

4 – After outlining the penguin using a 0.5 Uni Pin black liner pen, the image was then scanned onto the computer and touched up. Saving the file allows you to access the image for future projects…I’m thinking 2016 Christmas cards hahahahaha.

photo 2

5 – The penguins were then coloured using  alcohol pens. I created the fur on the baby penguin by stippling the pen onto the paper. Cut the image to size.

photo 1

6- Using glue, fix the penguin image to the background page.

photo 4

5 – Punch small stars from glitter paper and dot around the sky background. Add a sentiment using letter stickers to complete.

photo 4

Next week I’ll be sharing my finished camera girl journal page that I started a few weeks back. You can read about how I created the background on my Focus on the good times post.

Clare x

 

Leave a Reply

