Focus On The Good Times

Hands up who needs more hours in the day? meeeeee! Also who needs a day in between Saturday and Sunday? eh that would be me also! To say life is busy right now is an understatement but it’s an amazing kind of busy and one I’m very thankful for.

So last week it was a bit of touch and go whether or not I’d have my Messy Fun Friday eeeep! But the thought of having to wait another week was just crazy. So I sneaked in my studio Friday night once the children were in bed ha ha!

I had drawn a baby penguin and it’s mother, with a plan to create a wintry page. Unfortunately with all the best intentions I wasn’t really in the wintry creating mood so I created a bright, happy page. But that’s ok, I had another plan…note always have a plan B!

A few weeks ago I doodled an image of a girl holding a camera on a small post. The image was then re drawn on larger scale in my sketch book. It was then scanned into my computer and tidied up using photo editing software.I now have an image that can be used for future use and it can be used time and time again.

photo (3)
A little close up

Here’s how I created my journal page…..

photo 1
Cover A4 mixed media paper with white acrylic paint. Whilst the paint is still moist use a wet baby wipe to add small areas of blue paint.
photo 3
Sponge the same blue and lime green paint through a circle stencil onto the background.
photo 4
Scrape black paint around the edges using a palette knife. Dilute black paint with water and using a small paintbrush, flick the paint. Again using black paint stamp small. Next add some lines using a gift/credit card.
photo 5
Add larger circles using black paint and a bottle top. Now using blue and green paint stamp smaller, swirly circles
photo 2
The page needed a contrasting colour so I added orange, again using paint and a circle stamp.
photo 4
More black paint circles were stamp and I also created some doodling using a white Signo Uniball pen.
photo 1
The word focus was added using stickers. They are actually pink but quickly changed to black using an alcohol pen. I used the cellotape image transfer technique and lifted some text from a book.
photo (3)
Finally I added some journaling using word stickers.

Materials used

  • Acrylic paints –  Cadmium Orange Hue (619), Primary Blue (159), Black (026) ,white (011) (Daler Rowney) and Citron Green (Americana)
  • Journaling- white gel pen (Signo Uniball)  
  • Stencils – Chequered dots (Dylusions)
  • Image –  Hand drawn by me
  • Stamps – Zentangle stamp set (Sarah Hurley)
  • Junk stamping – gift card, bottle tops
  • Stickers – Stash
  • Words – Tim Holtz
  • Alcohol pens – Shinhan

Techniques used

  • Image transfer
  • Stenciling
  • Junk stamping
  • Doodling
  • Sketching

All that is left is to add my image which I’ll post about another day.

Have a great weekend

Clare x

 

 

One thought on “Focus On The Good Times

  1. Pingback: Messy Fun Friday – Penguin Journal Page | Clare Brown

Leave a Reply

